County Victim Compensation Contact Information
- Contact Information for Victim Compensation Application
- Covered Expenses
*For further information or specific questions relating to a claim submitted, please
call the Crime Victim Compensation Program (below), in the county where the crime occurred.
Completed Victim Compensation applications can be mailed to the address listed under
the specific county where the crime occured.*
Click Here for a PDF Version
Apache County Attorney's Office
P.O. Box 637
St. Johns, AZ 85936
Mohave County Attorney's Office
Crime Victim Compensation Program
P.O. Box 7000
Kingman, AZ 86402-7000
Cochise County Attorney's Office
Victims Witness Program
P.O. Drawer CA
Bisbee, AZ 85603
Navajo County Attorney's Office
Navajo County Victims Services
P.O. Box 668
Holbrook, AZ 86025
Victim/Witness Services for Coconino County
Coconino County Crime Victim Compensation Board
201 E. Birch, Suite 4
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Pima County Attorney's Office
Pima County Crime Victim Compensation Program
32 N. Stone Ave., 14th Floor
Tucson, AZ 85701
Gila County Attorney's Office
Victim Services Unit
1400 E. Ash Street
Globe, AZ 85501
Pinal County Attorney's Office
Pinal County Crime Victim Compensation Program
P.O. Box 1798
Florence, AZ 85132
Graham County Attorney's Office
800 West Main Street
Safford, AZ 85546
Santa Cruz County Attorney's Office
2150 N. Congress Dr., Suite 201
Nogales, AZ 85621
Greenlee County Attorney's Office
P.O. Box 1717
Clifton, AZ 85533
Yavapai County Attorney's Office
255 E. Gurley St., 1st Floor
Prescott, AZ 86301
La Paz County Attorney's Office
1320 Kofa Avenue
Parker, AZ 85344
Yuma County Attorney's Office
Yuma Victim Services Division
250 W. 2nd Street, Suite G
Yuma, AZ 85364
Maricopa County Attorney's Office
Victim Compensation Bureau
301 W. Jefferson, 9th Floor
Phoenix, AZ 85003
The general criteria for eligibility are as follows:
- The victim is victimized in Arizona, or is an Arizona resident who is victimized
in an area that lacks a crime victim compensation program, or is a victim
of international terrorism.
- The crime is reported to a police agency within 72 hours of the discovery of the
crime unless good cause is shown to justify a delay.
- An application is filed within two years of the discovery of the crime, in the county
in which the crime occurred, unless good cause is shown to justify a delay.
- The victim or derivative victim willingly cooperates with law enforcement agencies.
- The victim or a derivative victim suffers physical injury, a medical condition, extreme mental distress, or death
as a direct result of the criminally injurious conduct.
- The victim or derivative victims incurs economic loss as a direct result of the
crime that is not covered by a benefit or advantage that the person is entitled
to receive from a collateral source.
The Crime Victim Compensation Program can cover crime-related expenses for:
The Compensation Program cannot cover:
- Medical Costs
- Mental Health Counseling (up to $5,000)
- Funerals (up to $10,000)
- Wage Loss / Loss of Support
- Crime Scene Clean-up (up to $2,000)
- Some Transportation Costs (up to $1,500)
Awards may be reduced or denied in the following situations:
- Attorney Fees
- Property Loss or Repair
- Pain and Suffering
- Victimization of a person serving a sentence of imprisonment or who has escaped
imprisonment in a detention facility, home arrest, or work furlough program.
- The victim or derivative victim recouped the economic loss from a collateral source.
- The victim bears some degree of responsibility for the cause of injury or death
through negligence or intentional unlawful conduct, if that conduct substantially
provoked or aggravated the incident causing the criminally injurious conduct.
- The victim has not fully cooperated with the appropriate law enforcement agency.
- Compensation program funds are insufficient to make an award.
In 1986, the Arizona State Legislature established the Crime Victim Compensation
Fund. ACJC, by statute, is directed to administer the fund and create and implement
rules that guide the awarding of funds to victims of crime. Arizona is one of two
states that utilize a decentralized model of administration of the Crime Victim
The Commission, each year, is required by the Crime Victim Compensation Program
Rules to designate one operational unit in each county to receive a portion of the
fund and to administer the program at the county level. Currently, the county attorney
in each of the 15 counties is designated to assume the responsibility for the expenditure
of the funds apportioned to the county. Funds are distributed to each county based
upon a formula approved by the Commission.
Claims are filed by victims of criminally injurious conduct in the county where
the crime occurred. A local operational unit, supervised by the county attorney,
investigates each compensation claim. The claim is then presented to the county's
Crime Victim Compensation Board for review. Each Board is comprised of appointed
volunteers selected from citizens of the respective county. The Board determines
the approval or denial of the compensation claim, in accordance with the Program
Rules. Submitting an application for compensation does not guarantee an award, and
awards are based on eligibility and funding availability. The maximum award of any
single claim is $25,000.