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What is the Victim Compensation Program?What is the Victim Compensation Program?

 Provides financial assistance to crime victims

 Covers expenses of physical harm, mental distress, 
and/or economic loss from victimization

 Does not require apprehension or conviction of 
offender

 The payer of last resort



Background
 First compensation program in U.S. began in 1965 

Background
p p g g

(California)

 Federal grants to states began in 1986 under the 
Victims of Crime Act

 All states and US territories have a victim 
compensation programcompensation program

 Each state program covers crimes within its 
jurisdictionjurisdiction

 Each state operates its program under its own state 
law, determining who and what to pay, g p y



Funding SourcesFunding Sources
 Federal Sources

 Crime Victims Fund
- Federal Government grant monies
- Victims of Crime Act of 1984

C i i l fi d f- Criminal fines and fees
- 1/3 of total program funding

 State Sources State Sources
 State funds from a surcharge on criminal and civil penalties/fines

 Other Sources Other Sources
 Restitution/Subrogation
 Donations



Who is Eligible?Who is Eligible?

 Victim, or surviving family of a victim, of a crime , g y ,
falling under local, state, federal, tribal, and military 
jurisdiction

 Report the crime promptly

 Cooperate with law enforcement

 File a timely application

 Suffer economic loss not covered by a “collateral 
”source”

 Be innocent of wrongdoing tied to the victimization 
“contributory conduct”contributory conduct



Reporting / Filing RequirementsReporting / Filing Requirements

State Reporting Filing

Arizona 72 hours 2 years

Colorado 72 hours 1 year

New Mexico 30 days; 180 days DV/Rape 2 years

Utah No set time No set time



Examples of Collateral SourcesExamples of Collateral Sources

 Perpetrator or 3rd Party responsible for perpetrator’s p y p p p
actions

 Government programs
 Social Security, Medicare, Medicaid, Worker’s compensation

 Employer wage continuation programs

 Insurance proceeds



What Does Victim Compensation Pay For?What Does Victim Compensation Pay For?

All state programs pay for:

 Medical costs Medical costs

 Funeral costs

 Counseling Counseling

 Wage loss / Loss of support



Additional Benefits: ArizonaAdditional Benefits: Arizona

Arizona also pays for:

 Crime Scene Cleanupp

 Transportation Costs
 Medical / Mental Health ApptMedical / Mental Health Appt

 Attend a court hearing

 Obtaining a medical forensic examObtaining a medical forensic exam

 Substantiated health / safety risk



Additional Benefits: ColoradoAdditional Benefits: Colorado

Colorado also pays for:

 Repair or replacement of property damaged as a p p p p y g
result of a compensable crime

 Payment of the deductible amount on a residential 
insurance policy

 Modification to a residence if necessary to ensure a 
victims safetyvictims safety



Additional Benefits: UtahAdditional Benefits: Utah

Utah also pays for:

 Relocation and Related Costs

 Child Care

 Replacement of door locks windows or other Replacement of door locks, windows or other 
essential personal property required for the health 
and safety of the victim



Native American Traditional ServicesNative American Traditional Services

A i C l d N M i d Ut h ill f Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, and Utah will pay for 
Native American traditional services
 Healing / Blessing Ceremonies (medical / mental health) Healing / Blessing Ceremonies (medical / mental health)

 Funeral Ceremonies

 Each state has its own process to substantiate Each state has its own process to substantiate 
appropriateness of Native American traditional 
services

 When in doubt most programs will decide to the 
benefit of the victim



Compensation Claim MaximumsCompensation Claim Maximums

State Compensation Claim Maximum

Arizona $25,000 or benefit category maximums

Colorado $20,000 or each judicial district may set lower max

New Mexico $20,000 or $50,000 for catastrophic injuries

Utah $25,000 with additional $25,000 in medical if needed



Claim Process

 Completed application submitted to program
 Program investigates/substantiates claim
 Approved awards are paid to claimant or provider
 Denials/reductions may appeal or request a 

rehearingrehearing



State Program StructureState Program Structure

State Centralized Board Board Role

Arizona No Yes County boards decide all claims

Colorado No Yes Judicial district boards decide all claims

New Mexico Yes Yes Board decides payment amount only

Utah Yes Yes Board helps set program policy only



Share What You KnowShare What You Know
 Victim-witness and law enforcement personnel need p

to tell victims about this vital resource
 Victims need this information to access the financial 

help available to themhelp available to them
 Compensation programs operate with small staffs 

and depend on others who work with victims dailyp y



Contact InformationContact Information

 Arizona Criminal Justice Commission Arizona Criminal Justice Commission
(602)364-1146
www.azcjc.gov

 Colorado Division of Public Safety
(303)239-5719
1-888-282-1080
dcj.state.co.us/ovp/ 

 Ne Me ico Crime Victims Reparation Commission New Mexico Crime Victims Reparation Commission
(505)841-9432
(800)306-6262
www.cvrc.state.nm.us

 Utah Office for Victims of Crime (UOVC) 
(801)238-2360
(800)621-7444
www.crimevictim.state.ut.uswww.crimevictim.state.ut.us


